Batman 1989

As you may have gathered from my many posts on the subject, I’m really into comic books. I started breaking into my brother’s room to read Frank Miller’s Daredevil and John Byrne’s X-Men at a young age and a world opened up in my head.

Nowadays, that opening has extended to my wallet which may never close. The moment I think the comic companies have nothing to show me, they strike back and I’m hooked on 11 titles.

This was the case during the first Batman film. At the time I was deeply embedded with Marvel Comics and had no interest in DC Comics in general or Batman in particular. As the movie’s release date got closer, however… that story changed. I recalled liking Batman a lot as a child and taking the 60’s TV program seriously (I still can’t explain that one).

As a result of this navel gazing into my fanboy, I discovered the Batfan within and was in line for a late night premiere in Saugus, MA.

Many moons have passed since that night when I first witnessed a grown man in a home-made Batman costume ‘flying’ up and down the cinema aisle before the screen went up. I never purchased the DVD, never re-watched it and by and large have forgotten the film, allowing it to rest in my memory as ‘important’ for starting the comic book movie craze that Hollywood is currently engrossed with. That also has changed as the film was on TV last night. Steeling myself for a treat, I sat down to concentrate on the one motion picture that has motivated so many business meetings for over the last decade.

What a very bad movie.

Let me elaborate by saying that I do still like Michael Keaton because he’s at least, as actors say, doing something in the role.

batman008px9It’s never clear exactly what he’s doing, but the distant glint in his eye and permanently pursed lips definitely say to me… he’s doing something. It reminds me of my dad before he would erupt into a fit of anger when someone cut him off in traffic or maybe when he was about to sneeze… either one.

batman_1989_9As Batman, Keaton looks absolutely absurd. This is the first ‘rubber costume’ movie and I’m still not sure why they stayed with the idea. For some reason after Batman a super hero equaled a rubber costume. The ears wiggle, the seams bend, it looks uncomfortable and our hero must turn his entire body to look at one of the Joker’s many ineffectual henchmen before embarking on a fight scene that would make renowned carnival clown Emmet Kelley blush.

As far as chronicling the problems with the movie, that’s just the tip of the iceberg. While Burton completely understood The Joker, he was clearly unsure of how to handle Jack Nicholson.

The best Joker scene in the entire film is the infamous ‘transformation’ scene. Set in a dingy street doctor’s office, the screeching laughter from Nicholson at the sight of his disfigured face is so poignant and perfect that you’d think it was based on a comic book.

However, after the transformation, the tragic and terrifying Joker is replaced with… Jack Nicholson at his campiest. I do like Nicholson as an actor. His performances in One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, Five Easy Pieces and even The Pledge are all incredibly moving and heartfelt. But that is not the Jack we get here.

I understand that the 1989 Batman movie set the stage for a new ‘adult’ take on a genre that had been predominantly thought of as being for children, but there are many mis-steps along the way.

The plot, which introduces the Batman‘s origin story and explains the story-behind-the-story, as it were… is clunky and awkward. The connection between Batman and The Joker is almost entirely based on coincidence rather than the stronger bond over them being egocentric geniuses in a world of idiots. While Batman sees his role as protector, The Joker sees the entire city as a kind of playpen and all the people his toys to break as he pleases.

If the Batman movie centered more on this angle, rather than pausing to let the Prince soundtrack strut through, it would be a stronger film.

The love interest of Vicki Vale is forced upon the film so roughly that not only does Bruce Wayne have no idea what to do with her, but The Joker insists on falling in love with her… as does Robert Culp‘s character Knox.

I’m not sure, but I think that Pat Hingle‘s bumbling Commissioner Gordon also holds a torch for Ms. Vale.

The Batmobile designed by Anton Furst is without a doubt the best real-life design of the car I’ve ever seen… sorry to all you Barris fans out there. Both graceful and alien with its brutal design, the car tears through the film. Yet it is involved in the most benign car chases over a sound stage that you wonder why they bothered.

This brings me to the biggest problem with Batman and most other super hero films. The filmmakers stress so much over making the character ‘real,’ including the insertion of a love interest and background characters that they forget that it is, in essence, an action film. Batman has so little action in it you can easily forget this.

The dramatic moments that Batman has on the screen are so contrived and stagey that the villains stand around waiting for him to do things. From the scene in the smallest art museum set I’ve seen where Batman uses that ‘repelling thing’ to get from one point of the room to another to the previously mentioned non-fight scenes that look more like comedic opportunities… there’s not much to get excited about.

While important for introducing studio execs to the idea that a serious comic book movie can work and for making moviegoers excited over Batman, the 1989 movie is simply a bad motion picture. Tim Burton‘s vision is inspired, dynamic and inventive, but not quite complete. It took four movies and three directors to finally get the mix correct in 2004’s Batman Begins.

But the Chris Nolan/Christian Bale franchise is still in its infancy. Who knows what stumbling blocks it will encounter next Summer when The Dark Knight hits the big screen.

Suggested Reading/Viewing:

Batman (Two-Disc Special Edition)
Batman Begins (Widescreen Edition)
Batman: Blind Justice
Chinatown
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

28 thoughts on “Batman 1989

  1. i agree, Batman has not aged well. I LOVED it when it came out–saw in 9 times in the theater–but i think was mostly due to the fact that it was the first “real” comic-book movie since Superman.

    i like Keaton as Bruce Wayne, sorta, tho the bumbling thing kinda annoys me. he doesnt look particularly good in the Batsuit. Vicki Vale is ehh, and Alexander Knox just takes up valuable screen time.

    also, one of things i love about BB is how Gotham is a REAL CITY. the Gotham in the Burton movies is beautiful to look at, but doesnt seem like a real place for a second.

    Like

  2. I just can’t agree with you fellas. The first Batman movie is about as good as Batman Begins. They both have some flaws, but none very serious.

    Like

  3. While the 89 Batman movie is better than the unwatchable Batman Forever (I think I recall Robb saying at the time that he liked Batman Forever) and Batman & Robin, it’s still not a great film. It did start the super hero movie franchise, but has a weirdly overpowering soundtrack, a terrible actress, over the top lead villain and a weak plot.

    It does have one thing the others don’t, Anton Furst’s designs which saw a peak in Batman Returns. And I do like Keaton in the role.

    Like

  4. Hey don’t you dare insult me with liking Batman Forever. Seriously with that, if only we could have got Kilmer to play only batman in Batman & Robin and kept Clooney for only Bruce Wayne. Character might have worked. Movie would still stink, but the character would be alright.

    I never liked the the ’89 one at all. I even went so far to pan it in a movie review video project for high school. Even back in the day it was dull and lethargic. Keaton was ok, but I still get memories of Beetlejuice when he gets angry at the Joker during that one scene.

    I remember having the opportunity to see it for free with my dad for a second time. I talked him into Ghostbusters II which I already saw.

    Like

  5. I knew that would get a post out of you!

    I think I recalled you having something to say about Batman Forever, while I felt like I had been kicked in the teeth and was speechless. You’re a braver soul than I.

    You’re right about Keaton. I think they were still trying to figure out what to do with Wayne/Batman and even Burton wasn’t sure. To be fair, Keaton had never done anything like this so he was finding his way. They got some things right, but Beetlejuice does shine through now and again.

    Like

  6. I CAN’T STAND that the Burton/Keaton Batman kills, and pretty arbitrarily at that. letting someone fall down a shaft? SETTING A HENCHMAN ON FIRE? that’s not any Batman i’m familiar with.

    i actually thought Forever was the best of the series–less under the thumb of some director’s “vision” (ok, Tim, I get it–everyone’s a misshappen freak who feels like an outsider, thank god he never got to do Superman!), with more genuine laughs. not a great film in any way, but to me the best of the series, until Begins came along and for me made the other films utterly irrelevant.

    Like

  7. This is all bogus. The original Batman is a work of art on the part of Tim Burton. Sets, props, production design the package is beautiful. Keaton’sperformance is dark, tormented, and vengeful just as it should be. He’s a good actor! And you can’t beat Jack Nicholson’s Joker. The following Batman films were a flop until Begins. The next films were too comic book, too commercialized. That’s why Nolan revived the franchise cause the other stuff was crap!

    Like

  8. I’m with you (more or less, obviously) until Nicholson. He’s just far too ‘on his own’ as an actor. There’s no real part, just Jack doing his thing. I love Jack… but not his Joker.

    The set, prop and other designs are outstanding, Keaton is great… but it still has major problems.

    And I always have to rub my chin when someone says a comic book movie is too ‘comic bookie.’ Isn’t that part of the overall idea?

    I’m seeing my comic bookie tomorrow, by the way. My money’s on Robin.

    Like

  9. to the guy who said all the original, stuff, Batman Begins came out in 2005, not 2004. just a clarification. and someone also posted something about Batman having to turn his entire body in one of the movies. Just so you know, it was like that in Batman Begins also, that’s why in the Dark Knight they released info that “he can now turn his head.” Anyway, thats my 2 cents.

    Like

  10. To the first idiot that said the first batman movie sucked you just don’t have any imagination at all. The first Batman movie was and always will be the best batman movie of all time and Michael Keaton was great playing bruce wayne and batman. Jack Nicholson kicked ass also playing the joker and he wasn’t campy!!! period.

    Like

  11. I personally think the original Batman (1989) is fantastic. Its my favourite film by a long streak with Returns falling close with sexy Mich. Keaton although a bit of a short-arse, is dark yet cool at times-#Love the-“you wanna get nuts.. lets get nuts!” dialogue#, and no one else to grace the suit has come close as of yet. The Joker is a strong character I feel mixing eccentricity with criminality, and the soundtrack is an absolute work of art. Batman Begins was an improvement on the laughable Batman and Robin, although I HATE!!! the new Batmobile. Its an army tank surely?? Bring back the original you bast*rds.

    Like

  12. I honestly have to say I disagree with everything the author of this review said.

    Honestly I believe every super hero movie with a rubber costumed copied the Batman, I feel the reason they made his costume rubber is because, well he doesn’t have super power, he needs some form of protection. Where as Spiderman, the new Super-man, Spawn, X-men, they have powers, they could easily wear a t-shirt and jeans and still be ok, mind you Batman is normal, he can’t resist a knife stab as easily as everyone else, thats why his suit is thick rubber. As for the whole moving the body around to look at other people, well what can I say? I honestly think the whole turn your body thing gives him more of “Take a good look at whats gonna Eff you up”.
    Besides, which would you prefer? Tim Burton’s bat suit or Batman Forever and Batman and Robin’s nipple costumes. if i recalled so I believe George Clooney said one time that when wearing the nipple costume he “made batman gay”.

    As far as the Joker for the film they didn’t a damn good job, the Joker of the early 90s/Late 80s had a joker who did evil deeds in a childish way, As for the NEW Joker coming in 2008’s “the Dark Knight” he’s twisted, ugly, and sinister as he’s potrayed in the newer comic books.

    Also, I think you give the action scenes a little too much credit, just saying that out loud.

    Oh and theres a SPECIFIC reason why Keaton triumphs over the other batmans:
    When you listen to the difference in Batman and Bruce Wayne’s voice it’s almost perfect. Where as we have George Clooney who hardley tries, and we have Val Kilmer trying to hide his lisp and trying to hard when he actually does batman’s voice (note when he asks the doctor if she likes the circus you can hear the lisp in “Circus”). Christan Bale almost gets away with it however it could be just me but theres something Christan Bale does with his “A”s that connect the two.

    Batmobile, Sexy, end of discussion.
    Batplane Sexy, also end of discussion.

    As for the 3 way love tie with Vicky, that I’ll give you, she wasn’t all that attractive, she can’t be if she doesn’t even make it to the sequal.

    “BATMAN” was by far one my MOST FAVORITE movies. And absolute favorite Super heroes movie.

    Yo Mamma’s Out

    Like

  13. Thanks for all the comments! Please stroll through my many other posts and leave comments on what you think.

    Just to clarify that I’d never even suggest that there was a contest between Kilmer, Clooney and Keaton. Until the arrival of Bale, Keaton was THE Batman… next to Kevin Conroy ofcourse. Kilmer and Clooney were both just dreadful, not even clear what they are trying to do or of they are even trying to do anything.

    I have to admit that the judgment on Kilmer comes from a single full viewing as Forever was so bad I’ve never seen it all the way through twice.

    The Batmobile of 1989 is incredible and has never been surpassed. The Batplane or Batwing is a cool toy idea, but pretty silly in the end and uh… why does it have guns and missile launchers?? Doesn’t Batman despise guns? Is that why not a single bullet fired by Batman can hit the broad side of a chemical factory?

    The rubber suit just looks like a heavy rubber suit. It wasn’t until they redesigned it in Batman Returns that it looked anything like armor. So anytime I see a rubber suit on Batman, Captain America, Spawn or The Flash I have to ask… why? It certainly doesn’t look comfortable. And the only protection you gain is from… electricity… maybe.

    The Joker of the 1989 Batman film is just Jack Nicholson making a meal out of ever scene he is in and still manages to not really do anything all that dangerous. Why should I fear Nicholson’s Joker? Is he going to sick his henchman Bob on me?? Pull out a really long handgun? Put me in the middle of a romantic triangle with Kim Basinger?

    It’s the 1966 Ceasar Romero Joker through Nicholson.

    It’s still too early to tell if Heath Ledger’s Joker will be the definitive Joker of the decade, but so far it looks like he will at least not suck. And that’s something to shoot for.

    Like

  14. dude who ever put the first batman movie down is a complete retard. the gritty atmosphere was perfect batman is supposed to be a strike fear in you. something forever and batman and robin didnt do. the new one was alright christian bale probably was the best choice. but god damitt batman and batman returns were the best two movies ever you cant beat it.

    Like

  15. I had no idea Bruce Wayne had such a potty mouth.

    Grim and gritty??? I hardly think that a Prince soundtrack and a gang of ineffectual clowns spray painting masterpieces qualifies as gritty. There’s a lot of darkness, yes. But grim and gritty it ain’t. At the time it looked very impressive to some (Robb was not fooled), but it has not aged well at all, which is unfortunate for Keaton who delivers a quality act (aside from the ‘OOoo, I’m crazy’ routine which is 100% Beetlejuice).

    The film is inspired and has lots of great ideas, but the pacing is deadly and the plot isn’t worthy of the 1966 TV series. Batman Returns? I should watch that one again soon so I can get lambasted for that review as well.

    Like

  16. I reckon “Batman Returns” was the better of the two Tim Burton films. The first Tim Burton Batman film felt directionless and heavy on 80’s kitsch whilst the sequel had more of the surreal Tim Burton landscape about it and wasn’t weighed down by Prince’s music or the camp Joker. “Batman” tried too hard and had cagey dialogue, “Batman Begins” flowed a lot better. I’ve heard Christopher Nolan talk about Batman Returns and he seems to respect its surreal vision even though he wanted far more reality for his, in my opinion, superior Batman films. But Burton was there first trying out the celluloid canvas and his effort has some merit even though I wanted much more at the time. I have to agree on one point though, Keaton effortlessly did Batman’s voice whilst Bale sounds a little too gruff but Bale is an infinitely better vision of Bruce Wayne and his dialogue with Alfred is superb.

    Like

  17. I completely agree with comments 12, 13, 14 and 16. I love the original two Batman movies.
    I just saw the Dark Knight and while I applaud the great story and Heath Ledger’s performance, I think Micheal Keaton is the best Batman, he had the best costume and the best voice. Also, no one will make a better Batmobile than the 1989/1992 version. The 1989 story could have been better and action scenes more spectacular, but it’s still a damn good movie. I saw it close to 10 times.
    The Batman Begins and TDK movies are superior only in the story and action scenes departments.
    Christian Bale is a good choice for the new movie versions, but his Batman voice sounds like he has a bad cold…
    Oh yeah, and Batman and Robin is the worst comic book movie ever made!
    Anyway, that’s my opinion.

    Like

  18. well…to me the only problem about Batman (1989) is its childish silly plot…other then that, it has a beautifull art design, and almost unbelievably good soundtrack, an extremely fun joker and a the most compelling representation of batman by Keaton, because he is batman there..at least, the way i see batman…cause in batman begins,(wich i like also) the character is very diferent then what i tought of batman

    i just love Tim Burton’s Batman…i think that its the movie most similar to a comic book ever done…even more the Raiders of the Lost Ark, i think.

    Like

  19. Gotham City doesn’t look like a ‘real city’ in Burton’s film because it is architecture in a very old fashioned style. You can’t compare Nolan’s film with Burton’s because they’re so completely different in style, aim and time period that its so unfair. I like both for different reasons. Christian Bale is Michael Keaton’s true successor.

    Like

  20. I don’t care what any of you say, the 1989 Batman was by far the best batman to date. The rubber suit I thought was also awesome, unlike the current Batman suit that looks like a ninja suit on roids. The best Batmobile ever designed by a long shot was the 1989 version. I wish it would come back.

    Like

  21. BATMAN 1989 is an extraordinary masterpiece. No matter what anyone says, you can’t deny its powerful seduction in its artistry alone. The suit. The car. The butler. The overall atmosphere and 2 wonderful actors. Nuff said about that.

    While Batman Begins and TDK were far better films over Batman Forever and Batman & Robin, BATMAN 89 remains to be a pinnacle Bat flick and the definitive Batman to date.

    Hasn’t aged well at all? What are you nit picking exactly? I find it to be a timeless classic. There’s no set era for that film. Its a mix of modern technological advances in a 50s vs 80s period.
    There is no essence of age in that film.

    Keaton’s first Batsuit is bad ass. And quite gritty. Not even Bale’s hilarious looking bobble head suit can compare over the 89. The TDK suit is pure trendy crap. Robo bat potato head.

    The soundtrack in BB and TDK repeats in a loop with the same ol’ Chung chung chung… chung chung chung sounds. No variation in emotion.

    Danny Elfman’s original bat score moved and riled audiences.

    And not even today’s short lived batmania can compare to the insane Batmania of the summer of 89. We had BATMAN cereal back then for goodness sakes!! lol

    Batman Begins. Good film. The Dark Knight, good but too long and many lethargic moments.

    Batman Returns, quirky, dark, fun, weird TIM BURTON.

    Batman 1989 = MASTERPIECE. lol period. and that’s just my opinion. ;]

    Like

    • I’m sorry, but I can’t get past the fact that used the statement “powerful seduction in its artistry” about a movie featuring Batman rounding up balloons to the music of Prince. It’s cool, we all get excited about the things we love and we’re all allowed to.

      My main point is that I always held the film in high regard and after a surprise viewing on TV it just came crashing down at my feet. I was shocked to see poor plotting, uneven acting and embarrassing model work for such a high profile film. Also, I cannot get over how little there is for our hero actually do! All the mad fighting skills, batarangs and missile-launching UFOs cannot hide the fact that he’s fighting a crew of goons led by a character actor armed with a silly prop gun.

      I think this thread has gotten away from my surprise at being so wrong for holding this movie in high regard for so long and instead the feeling seems to be that I have some kind of vendetta against it.

      I don’t.

      But man was I let down to find that my memory had cheated me so very badly.

      Like

Leave a comment