Alex Toth, genius of a generation

Growing up in the 1970’s, almost all of my favorite cartoons from the Fantastic Four to the Super Friends had one thing in common… Alex Toth. It wasn’t until much later in life that I fully appreciated the gifted touch that he had and the magic that he brought to these characters on screen, forming the blueprint of these comic book creations in action for an entire generation.

Alex_TothIt wasn’t just the superheroes that Toth worked on. He was also responsible for Space Ghost, the Herculoids, Birdman and the Galaxy Trio, Dino Boy in the Lost Valley, not to mention his body of work in print (still celebrated to this day). But for me, I will always get a warm goow from just looking at his character designs for the Super Friends.


Alex Toth, Genius Collected

One thought on “Alex Toth, genius of a generation

  1. Yeah… this is another case of me enjoying the fruits of someone’s labor without knowing who he was for a long time. I too am a child of the 1970s and I grew up on all those cartoons too.

    Were you in the Raleigh area back in the 1970s/1980s? Back when channel 28 was an independent and had the WPTF call-letters… there was an after-school show called “Barney’s Army” with a cool pseudo-animated host that introduced cartoons. They showed primarily the Hanna Barbera stuff, including most of what you named and also Shazaan and Fantastic Four (pre-Herbie!)… They also did the typical birthday stuff for local kids and would show pictures if you sent them in. Back in the day I sent two pictures and they showed both! I wish I had VCRed those episodes for posterity!

    But back on topic… Alex Toth had his hands in all kinds of stuff that I really liked.


Leave a Reply

