Star Lord’s Awesome Mix Vol. 1

guardians-of-the-galaxy-imax-posterMarvel Entertainment’s biggest thing since they put Robert Downey Jr. in an iron suit, Guardians of the Galaxy re-injects the superhero movie genre with so much vitality and innovation that I could watch it five more times (and once in IMAX, please). But along with the excellent script, superb cast and eye-popping special effects, the movie’s greatness is enhanced by the mix tape loaded in Peter Quill’s Walkman.

Labeled simply ‘Awesome Mix Vol. 1,’ director James Gunn released the tracklist on facebook.


1. Blue Swede – Hooked on a Feeling
2. Raspberries – Go All the Way
3. Norman Greenbaum – Spirit in the Sky
4. David Bowie – Moonage Daydream
5. Elvin Bishop – Fooled Around and Fell in Love
6. 10Cc – I’m Not in Love
7. Jackson 5 – I Want You Back
8. Redbone – Come and Get Your Love
9. The Runaways – Cherry Bomb
10. Rupert Holmes – Escape (The Pina Colada Song)
11. The Five Stairsteps – O-O-H Child
12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

You can listen to it here

Read the story behind Star Lord here

Read all about the Guardians of the Galaxy here


One thought on “Star Lord’s Awesome Mix Vol. 1

  1. This is a movie I have been largely “meh” about seeing. I don’t have a lot of familiarity with the characters, and what I do isn’t from what most consider shining examples. There are exceptions to be sure… but not enough to make me excited about this movie… so I’m pleased to hear it is better than I thought. It could just be me, but it seems like Marvel has been hyping this particular movie more than any other thus far… so a faceplant wouldn’t have been good. I’ll be happy to be wrong whenever I see this movie if I like it as much as the hype says I should.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s