Batman 1966 finally on dvd

When I was a wee lad, I watched the Adam West Batman TV series avidly. I even wore my Batman costume under my ‘street clothes’ so I could switch into action at a moment’s notice. I was a devoted Bat-fan. Strangely, the humor only occurred to me later in life. As a child, I took the absurd adventures of guys in tights against evil geniuses as written. The bizarre gadgets, the narrow escapes and the mad schemes all made sense to my little mind.

They still do, really.

But do to legal wranglings between Warner Bros. (who owns Batman) and 20th Century Fox (who has a controlling interest in the TV series), the program has never been made available on DVD. Finally both entities have out their differences aside and we are due for a superb surprise.

Official press release below:

It’s true! As per Conan O’Brien’s tweet this afternoon …

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment will distribute the long-awaited BATMAN live-action television series (1966-68) as a complete box set later in 2014.

More information to come.


Photo by Will Becton

One thought on “Batman 1966 finally on dvd

  1. BIFF! BAM! POW! Holy Painted Over Mustaches! It’s about time! Hey, I still do wear a Batman costume under my everyday duds… Bwahahaha!😉


Leave a Reply

